This year’s Melbourne Cup is poised to be one for the ages, with a handful of local horses preparing to stave off the international invasion and keep Australia’s greatest race on home shores.

Irish trainer Aidan O’Brien has the favourite in the race with $6 hope Yucatan, who will be ridden by James McDonald.

Overseas horses dominate the market, with the England-based Magic Circle second in betting and Godolphin’s Cross Counter in third.

There are only three horses that are trained and bred in Australia in the race, with Chris Waller’s Youngstar the most popular of those at $15.

Reigning Hong Kong champion jockey Zac Purton will ride another Waller-trained runner in the race, climbing aboard Finche from barrier 15.

Run over 3,200m, the Melbourne Cup is one of the richest handicap contests in the world with a total prize money of A$7,050,000 million (HK$39.7m).

The race is being simulcast by the Hong Kong Jockey Club, which means you can also enjoy a flutter if you fancy.

What time does it start?

The race begins at 12pm (Hong Kong time).

Where can I watch it?

Live coverage of the race meeting begins at 10.35am on Now TV channels 630 and 668, TVB J2 and Cable TV HK 603 and 604.